District of Columbia Retirement Board

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

The DCRB 2012 Retired Police Officer, Active Teacher, and Active Firefighter Elections Results Are Certified

Wednesday, January 2, 2013
The winners of the election have been announced below.

The District of Columbia Retirement Board (DCRB) conducted elections for the Active Firefighter member, the Active Teacher member, and the Retired Police Officer member the DCRB Board of Trustees ("the Board") in 2012. In accordance with the Board's Rules for the Election of members to the Board ("Election Rules"), the Board, through the American Arbitration Association ("AAA"), conducted an election for the representative ofthe active District of Columbia firefighters, the active District of Columbia teachers, and the retired District of Columbia police officers.

The ballots were counted on Wednesday, December 5, 2012, at 900 7'h Street, N.W., ML Level, Washington, D.C., in the presence of Board representatives, and under the supervision of AAA. Following the count, AAA submitted the Certification of Results to the Board on December 6, 2012. The Board has certified the results of the elections and has declared the winners to be Edward Smith, an active District of Columbia firefighter; Nathan Saunders, an active District of Columbia teacher; and George Suter, a retired District of Columbia police officer. Congratulations to the newly elected Trustees!

Pursuant to section 408.4 of the Election Rules, any qualified candidate for the election may petition the Board in writing for a recount of votes within seven (7) calendar days of the date of publication of the certification of the winner. The petition must be filed at the Board's executive office located at 900 7th Street, N. W., 2nd Floor, Washington, D.C. 20001. In the absence of a request for a recount, the election results will become final and cannot be appealed thirty (30) days after the publication ofthe Board's certification.

The Notice of Public Interest, which was published on December 28, 2012, in the D.C. Register and certifies the winners of the 2012 election to serve as members of the Board, is available for download below.